Professor David Denning has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology in 2021. The Academy, the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology, recognizes excellence, originality, service and leadership in the microbial sciences. Election to the Academy is a mark of distinction.

David has acted as Scientific Advisor to the Fungal Infection Trust since its inception in 1991. For example, he developed The Aspergillus Website in 1998 (, the world’s most comprehensive resource for aspergillosis and read monthly in >145 countries. He is also the coordinator of the LIFE (Leading International Fungal Education) program (, a global educational resource on fungal disease, since 2012. He was the founding Director of the National Aspergillosis Centre, the world’s first national clinical centre for any fungal disease (2009- 2020), retiring from this role and clinical practice in 2020. His continuing University of Manchester role involves education and improving the understanding of the genetics of chronic pulmonary aspergillosis. His also Chief Executive of the Global Action Fund for Fungal Infections.

Nominated by Professor Neil Gow FRS FMedSci of the University of Exeter: “Denning has led the world in terms of advocacy for medical mycology. Without doubt he is one of the key opinion leaders in medical mycology whose work has proved transformational and has had widespread influence on basic science, the treatment and management of fungal disease and the availability of antifungal drugs in low income countries. As a scientist his work has had enormous impact in an extremely widely of a range of topics including fungal biology, pathogenesis and patient care, antifungal drug action and resistance and diagnostics.”

David has published more than 600 articles that have been cited more than 80,000 times and has an h-index of 121. He was the number one cited research author in Europe in Mycology (5th in Microbiology) in 2012 and was a Clarivate Analytics highly cited ISI highly cited researcher in 2019 and 2020.